“With one deep breath, and one big step, I move a little bit closer.”

I’m sitting here at the Holiday Inn in Georgetown, all ready to go. My bags are all packed, and all that is left to do is go to the airport and fly out. I feel slightly detached from the whole situation, now that it’s finally arrived. Staging yesterday was a breeze, and all the paperwork is finished. It is amazingly easy to sign one’s life away. I got my diplomatic “no-fee” passport, and I look so grown up in the picture. When did I become so old?

This morning I have to call my parents and say goodbye for the last time, and then I’m putting my cell phone in a padded envelope and shipping it home. And then I’m outta here.

Last night Emily and I went to P.F. Chang’s for my last meal, and it was soooo good. If I ever commit murder and am given the death sentence, it will be hard to choose what my last meal would be: either my parents’ steak salad, or P.F. Chang’s.  Yum! We also went and saw the movie “Easy A” and laughed so much! It was excellent; I’d definitely recommend it. Emily also surprised me with Georgetown cupcakes, so we stopped for one last Starbucks and enjoyed the cupcake goodness at 11pm. What a great night : )

So that’s it. I check out of my hotel room in about a half hour, and this time tomorrow I’ll be in Germany for a layover. And tomorrow night,  life in the Peace Corps Ukraine begins. Kinda surreal, huh?

All my love.

Leave a Reply

